Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Wasn't the Carb, Wasn't the spark plug or wire - is it the coil? 14 Jul 2006 18:18 #62043

• DawnKZ750
  • DawnKZ750's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Okay, my #3 pipe is not getting hot. I changed all the spark plugs and yesterday I took the carbs off cleaned thouroughly and replaced the float needles and seats. I didn't really know what I was doing but I did it, and by the way if there are any ladies reading this - be careful b/c that carb cleaner really does a job on your nail polish. Any way, I was told that maybe the problem was the coil or wires. I switched my #3 wire with my #2 and #3 pipe still not getting hot so I guess it's not the wire. I just want to be sure that the problem is with the coil before I spend the money for a new one. Any help is greatly appreciated as I am new at all this. Thanks, Dawn :)
1982 KZ750-E
MASSACHUSETTS

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Wasn't the Carb, Wasn't the spark plug or wire - is it the coil? 14 Jul 2006 18:24 #62045

• rdhussey
  • User
Have you checked for spark on your cold cylinder? Try it and pot the result :)

Wasn't the Carb, Wasn't the spark plug or wire - is it the coil? 14 Jul 2006 18:29 #62051

• DawnKZ750
  • DawnKZ750's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
How would I go about checking the spark? I drained the bowl and there's gas in there and the plug was wet. Sorry, as I said I don't have a lot of experience with bikes but I am learning.
1982 KZ750-E
MASSACHUSETTS

Wasn't the Carb, Wasn't the spark plug or wire - is it the coil? 14 Jul 2006 18:37 #62059

• steell
  • User
  • Thank you received: 207
If the coil is bad it will have "two" dead cylinders, not one.

I'd do a compression check to verify the rings and valves are sealing before I went any farther. If one or more cylinders are down on compression my next step would be to check the valve clearances, but that should be done anyway.