TOPIC:

Abnormal Voltage? 18 Sep 2022 08:20 #874055

• ShaneDude
  • ShaneDude's Avatar Topic Author
  • User is blocked
  • Thank you received: 13
1977 KZ750 Twin
new AGM battery, new electrosport reg/rec

At idle the bike is 14.3. at 2k rpm and above its at 14.7  or 14.8.  Bike has been blowing coils. There are no bad grounds. Are those voltage readings normal, or an indication of overcharging? Ive checked everything but the stator, as I have no experience with that, and all looks good. Could this be a stator issue, or points, timing or anything else?

Thanks in advance

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Abnormal Voltage? 18 Sep 2022 08:56 #874056

• Warren3200gt
  • User
  • Thank you received: 655
It's a tad high but nothing to worry about. It's the regulator that, err, regulates the voltage to the battery. Don't know what type of regulator you have on that bike but the old style Z1 open plate regulators were adjustable. Later enclosed ones are not.
I have a bike which chucks 15v into the battery across the terminals at 6k rpm and above and £14.8v below 6k rpm without issue. 

Z1000J2 somewhat modified!

Abnormal Voltage? 18 Sep 2022 09:30 #874058

• ShaneDude
  • User is blocked

It's a tad high but nothing to worry about. It's the regulator that, err, regulates the voltage to the battery. Don't know what type of regulator you have on that bike but the old style Z1 open plate regulators were adjustable. Later enclosed ones are not.I have a bike which chucks 15v into the battery across the terminals at 6k rpm and above and £14.8v below 6k rpm without issue.  
Thanks for your advice. I guess I will have to dig further to see why the ignition coil has cooked....twice.Of course, I dont have to tell you your bikes are amazing. I have a few myself, including a ZRX 1200R 

Last edit: by ShaneDude.

Abnormal Voltage? 18 Sep 2022 09:45 #874060

• Warren3200gt
  • User