No Power + No Shorts = Bad Rectifier?

• Elijah.stone
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
29 Nov 2020 01:22 #839154 by Elijah.stone
No Power + No Shorts = Bad Rectifier? was created by Elijah.stone
Hey everyone! I'm pretty new to the KZ world and, unfortunately, I'll have to kick off my membership on this board with a problem I need help solving.
I'm having a strange issue with my 1978 KZ400. I don't have much experience with these older electrical systems (or electrical systems altogether), so I was hoping for some advice from someone more experienced.

Bike was running fine all day yesterday. Today I turned it on for a few minutes to warm it up to check oil level. After 3 minutes it just shut off. Now, no lights or any power with key turned.

Here are the steps I took and what I found out:
1) Main fuse has power
2) The two other (10A) fuses have no power on EITHER side - with or without key turned
3) Replaced fuses just to be safe, same problem
4) Checked ignition switch as per manual. I have proper reading from ohmmeter - I've attached chart from manual for reference
5) I went back to the fuse box and did something perhaps not recommended. I created a bridge with some wire from the main fuse to the other fuses and everything started working again. Headlights came on, and I bumped the starter without a problem.
6) I figured since the last step work, it couldn't be a short on the other two circuits, but I traced the wires back and wasn't able to find a short.
That the the crux of the problem.

Out of desperation I checked the rectifier with an ohmmeter as per manual. I found that when the positive lead is held to either of the yellow wires, I get NO LOAD. The manual instructs that this connection must read below 20 Ohm (chart below). So here is my question: Is NO LOAD suggest a failure of the rectifier, or is it acceptable when the manual instructs that it must be under 20 Ohm? If it is a failure, would this explain have no power at the two 10A fuses?