Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

'81 KZ 750 - HEADLIGHT replacement to save the bike from dying 14 Jun 2020 15:51 #828179

• ryanlewis85
  • ryanlewis85's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi guys -

I'm no mechanic, but it seems by 81' kz750 keeps dying because the headlight is always on, and is a huge power draw. I imagine you've experienced the same.

Looking at my options, and wanted to ask you guys for input. Can I just change the bulb to an LED and be done with it? Do I need some adaptor/something else to be able to do that simple change?

Or should I try to buy a whole new headlight assembly thing? I've seen some posts related, but was hoping we could get some fresh eyes/clear answers regarding the issue above.

Thanks so much guys!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

'81 KZ 750 - HEADLIGHT replacement to save the bike from dying 14 Jun 2020 16:31 #828182

• M_a_t_t
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 41
How did you come to that conclusion? If it's the original headlight for the bike I don't see how it would draw too much unless there is a different issue. Nothing against changing to LED's or anything, but it sounds like a band-aid for a different issue. I think after 74 all headlights on motorcycles are required to be on when the motorcycle is running.
83 KZ1100A (shaft)
17 Versys X 300 abs
81 kz650h1
81 kz750e2
90 Honda CBR600F (brother's)
The following user(s) said Thank You: Nessism

'81 KZ 750 - HEADLIGHT replacement to save the bike from dying 14 Jun 2020 16:54 #828188

• 650ed
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2828

M_a_t_t wrote: ............... I think after 74 all headlights on motorcycles are required to be on when the motorcycle is running.

Not so. I believe that requirement started in 1978. My 1977 KZ650 came with an ON/OFF headlight switch. Ed
1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

Last edit: by 650ed.