1981 KZ305 Ignition help

More
16 Apr 2020 10:26 #823493 by Stingray812
1981 KZ305 Ignition help was created by Stingray812
I am currently working on getting a KZ305 up and running. It has the old points style ignition and my question is: Are there any options for converting this to an electronic ignition? It seems that everywhere I look the only Kawasaki options are for the larger 4 cylinder bikes (KZ750, 1000, etc.) and the only twin cylinder options are for Triumphs, Harleys, Indians, etc. I'm not necessarily opposed to keeping the points but it seems that those are bit hard to find as well. I have read that you can take the ignition off a KZ440 ('82 and later) since it was an "electronic" type ignition. As luck would have it I have one of those but unfortunately the bike did not come with any of the ignition components and they seem almost impossible to find as well.
I'm pretty new to the motorcycle world and this is the first bike I've done any real wrenching on so excuse my ignorance but it seems that since the 305 is a dual fire ignition a system that works with the 4 cylinders would work. I'm guessing it won't because the timing is completely different? Any help/guidance/ wisdom/education would be greatly appreciated.

1981 Kawasaki KZ440 LTD
1981 Kawasaki KZ305
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Apr 2020 12:29 - 16 Apr 2020 12:35 #823498 by loudhvx
Replied by loudhvx on topic 1981 KZ305 Ignition help
The 305 is a 180-degree crank twin. (Pistons move up and down opposite of each other.)
The 400/440 is a 360-degree crank twin. (Pistons move up and down together in unison.)

You are correct in that the 305 points ignition, on the surface, resembles that of an inline-four Kz. The most obvious difference is that the coils only fire one plug at a time, rather than two at a time like on the fours.