Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

KZ440 Rear Turn Signal Wiring 18 May 2019 09:06 #804082

• Grcko
  • Grcko's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 30
I am in the process of replacing the crappy little aftermarket lights on my bike with the original lights. I would like to have the rear lights work as running lights as well as turn signals. (I am using a set of lights from the the front for the rear to accomplish this)
My question is; can I tie lights into the switched positive on the brake circuit or do I need to tie them into the switched positive on the signal circuit? The wiring diagram doesn't show where the line goes to from the front signal circuit other than it ties into each front signal and the tach light so it would be a lot easier to tie into the brake line than to try and trace the other circuit.
Can you tel I am new to bike wiring? :)
As Always,

1983 KZ440

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KZ440 Rear Turn Signal Wiring 18 May 2019 09:32 #804083

• 650ed
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2829
I believe you will find that amber running lights on the rear of a bike are not legal. Amber or red rear turn signals are legal. So if you are determined to modify your bike's lights you may want to consider finding red lenses (see link below). Otherwise a savvy cop may stop you. Ed

www.ricepaddy.com/kawasaki-z1-h1-h2-s2-k...lens-pair-69-05.html
1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)
The following user(s) said Thank You: loudhvx

Last edit: by 650ed.

KZ440 Rear Turn Signal Wiring 18 May 2019 15:57 #804109

• loudhvx
  • KZr Legend
  • Thank you received: 1615
The switched positive wire (often brown) that feeds the brakelight switches can be used to power the running lights. but it would make more sense to just tap into what's already there, which is the tail light wire. I think it might be a red wire.