Recommendations for 1980 KZ550 Regulator Rectifier

More
01 Aug 2018 12:36 #788022 by JoeyCrush
Hey Guys,

My RegRec is no good. Bought a used one off eBay and that was no good either. I’ve seen a lot of different suggestions on here for where to get a new one - but is there a cheaper route to finding a more reliable used one?

Thanks!

1980 KZ550A
Chicago, IL

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Aug 2018 12:47 #788025 by 650ed
Not used, but the shop in the link below sells really high quality regulators, rectifiers, etc.  Keep in mind that buying a used unit is, as you already found, a very risky proposition.  Ed

www.oregonmotorcycleparts.com/Products.html

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

• Nessism
  • Away
  • Sustaining Member
More
01 Aug 2018 13:13 #788029 by Nessism
I think the charging system for the 1980 KZ550 is only two phase, instead of the more common three phase.  I'm not an expert on R/R's but I think you need the appropriate two phase type R/R and not three.  For 1981 and beyond Kawasaki went to three phase.

More
01 Aug 2018 13:55 #788031 by JoeyCrush

Nessism wrote: I think the charging system for the 1980 KZ550 is only two phase.

That is right - there were only 4 cables I was testing with my meter. Red, Black, and 2 Yellow. Guess that means any newer used reg/recs aren't going to fly.

1980 KZ550A
Chicago, IL

More
01 Aug 2018 14:12 #788033 by JoeyCrush

650ed wrote: Not used, but the shop in the link below sells really high quality regulators, rectifiers, etc.  Keep in mind that buying a used unit is, as you already found, a very risky proposition.  Ed

www.oregonmotorcycleparts.com/Products.html

Yep - learned that lesson for sure.

Any chance you can help me out and confirm the VRRPM2 on this page  is what I should be ordering?

1980 KZ550A
Chicago, IL

More
01 Aug 2018 16:29 #788048 by 650ed