Need some Igntion system guidence on my 83 kz750 k1

More
15 Mar 2018 00:39 #780279 by sleeveless
Good evening all, thank you for having me. I just picked up an 83 kz750 k1. I've been checking the bike out and of course for sitting for 5 years it needs extensive work. The fist thing I need to tackle is the ignition system. I pulled the spark plugs wires off my plugs ( mistake) and my spark plug wires disintegrated. From my searching I have found that the coil is discontinued from Kawasaki which means the ignition system will need to be upgraded. Now I'm finding there were differences from the earlier models as compared to mine which leaves me with the question of what route should i take?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Mar 2018 05:23 - 15 Mar 2018 05:28 #780283 by JMKZHI
Disconnecting the spark plug wires wasn't a mistake. I would install new 7mm copper core spark plug wires & new correct properly gapped spark plugs. Then replace the ignition coil if necessary. The spark plug wires can be removed from the coil by unscrewing the ribbed compression nuts. Be sure to clean check & lubricate the timing advancer.
Last edit: 15 Mar 2018 05:28 by JMKZHI.

More
15 Mar 2018 07:40 #780296 by TexasKZ
Definitely not a mistake. Wires that brittle would have given you plenty of problems, and you would have to replace them anyway.

1982 KZ1000 LTD parts donor
1981 KZ1000 LTD awaiting resurrection
2000 ZRX1100 not ridden enough

More
15 Mar 2018 08:52 #780302 by loudhvx
I think this is a twin. If it has electronic ignition, (83 would have) you need a 2.3 ohm to 3.0 ohm coil.

If you are certain the stock igniter and pickup is good, then a 2.3 to 2.6 ohm coil would be the best match for the stock system. 3.0 ohms would also work fine, but would be a requirement in case you convert it to a Dyna S ignition.