kz750-s1 ignition wiring

More
17 Jun 2017 10:11 #764583 by kzswe
kz750-s1 ignition wiring was created by kzswe
Hello!

First time posting here and i pray you guys han help me out.

My bike is a 1982 kz750-s1.

Im struggling with the ignition wiring, its all been working until recently it began acting up a week ago.
At first the lights didnt come on with the key in "ON" position. Winkers, brake light and ignition Work fine.
With key in "PARK" the lights work fine so i figured the problem must be with the wiring in the ignition lock.

I started poking arround trying to figure out how it work and now i somehow seem to have the park setting both when the key is "ON" and "PARK"..

Ive tried looking at some diagrams but its pretty confusing.
Im a newb to the electrics and its my first bike so any pointers on how to get out ut this mess would be greatly appriciated!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Jun 2017 10:58 #764585 by kzswe
Replied by kzswe on topic kz750-s1 ignition wiring
Truly a newb, switched all fuses and now it seem to be working again.

More
17 Jun 2017 15:53 - 17 Jun 2017 16:07 #764606 by martin_csr
Replied by martin_csr on topic kz750-s1 ignition wiring
By switched the fuses, do you mean installed new? If this solved the problem, for curiosity's sake something you can do is to check the old fuses with a meter. Sometimes a glass fuse can look good, but it can still be bad as the filament can separate from an end cap.

ps: 750-s1?
Last edit: 17 Jun 2017 16:07 by martin_csr.
The following user(s) said Thank You: loudhvx

More
19 Jun 2017 03:25 #764747 by kzswe

martin_csr wrote: By switched the fuses, do you mean installed new? If this solved the problem, for curiosity's sake something you can do is to check the old fuses with a meter. Sometimes a glass fuse can look good, but it can still be bad as the filament can separate from an end cap.

ps: 750-s1?

Yea i replaced all 3 with new ones, sorry bout the bad english.