Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

1981 KZ750 Ltd no spark, not starting 11 Apr 2017 14:16 #758976

• Pedrosky750ltd
  • Pedrosky750ltd's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2
Hello, I'll try to keep this short and sweet and appreciate any thoughts.

I bought a 1981 Kz750 Ltd at the start of the year after passing my test which initially ran fine until it started cutting out, mostly when coming to a stop. I am new to riding, motorbikes, tinkering, etc but have been trying to solve my many problems through these forums and youtube. I think a list of the chain of events may help:

Bike cut out, more frequently as time passed
Bike failed to start
Cleaned carbs
Bike ran but eventually died and didn't start. Made horrible noise when trying to start.
Replaced clutch starter rollers, pins, springs ( great learning curve for a novice)
New oil filter
Bike ran but still randomly cut out
Checked for air leaks
Carb floats adjusted
New fuel filter
New battery
New spark plugs
Tested compression 100, 110, 110, 95 (dubious cheap compression tester)
Bike died, fuse had blown, started again with new fuse but died a few miles down the road. New fuse, no difference
No spark on any plug
Two new coils, still no spark
Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaggggggghhhhhh!!!!!!

I am loving riding, loving having a KZ750 LTD, loving tinkering but just need to get this beauty back on the road. Summer is pretty much here! As stated, I am a novice, this is all new to me but any help is much appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Pedrosky750ltd.

1981 KZ750 Ltd no spark, not starting 11 Apr 2017 18:34 #758986

• mopguy
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 168
Check IC Igniter.