KZ250 Electrical/Starting Issues

More
22 Apr 2016 00:20 #722290 by mdockrill
KZ250 Electrical/Starting Issues was created by mdockrill
Hi all,

First time posting to a forum like this.

I recently broke my foot and decided it was time to have a go at a project bike. Picked up an already bobbed Kawasaki KZ250 was all going really well, doing minor mods and tinkering whenever I had a chance. Today the bike lost power and I pulled over and it seems I have an electrical issue, here are the clues I've figured out:

-Horn still has power
-Neutral light works and is on, however when I hit the start button it dies out
-Indicators do not work, neither does head lamp or any other breaks.
-All 3 fuses in the fuse box are intact, however middle fuse doesn't have power running to it.

The only sign of life I have is the neutral light, it's helping keep my hopes alive.

Anyone have any ideas where I should start? I am pretty new to this whole thing but pick things up quick and understand basic electrics.

I was thinking CDI or ignition unit but don't really know how to test this..

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Adelaide Australia - 1982 KZ 250 - Bobber Style
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Apr 2016 02:56 - 22 Apr 2016 02:57 #722293 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic KZ250 Electrical/Starting Issues
Could test for a battery issue by jumping to a good automotive battery, but if the automotive battery is in a vehicle, the vehicle MUST NOT BE RUNNING while jumped to the bike battery. Because the running vehicle's charging system will fry the bike battery.

Good Fortune! :)

1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD
Last edit: 22 Apr 2016 02:57 by Patton.

• TexasKZ
  • Away
  • Platinum Member
More
22 Apr 2016 10:16 #722371 by TexasKZ
Replied by TexasKZ on topic KZ250 Electrical/Starting Issues