Removing battery and all that goes with it

More
02 Jun 2014 07:35 #634996 by 1978kz750
I'm not really interested utilizing the battery on my kz750b. My battery is bad anyhow so it saves me some cash to get it back on the road. I'm a total noob at wiring so I need it in idiot proof language :). Not really wanting to mess with the wiring harness either just tuck the connectors so if I change my mind I still have everything. I am not wanting to run the side covers and I want to clean up the areas behind them so I can possibly run pod filters. Sorry it's so jumbled. My brain is erratic today.

Be safe. Look twice for motorcycles

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Grumpy Ole Artist
  • User
  • Eschew Obfuscation!
More
04 Jun 2014 07:36 #635319 by Grumpy Ole Artist
Replied by Grumpy Ole Artist on topic Removing battery and all that goes with it
As I understand it, these bikes run on their battery...u r gonna need it!

1978 KZ650 B2
Former rides...1976 CB360T, 1985 Shadow 700, 1985 GPZ750Turbo

More
04 Jun 2014 07:50 #635323 by loudhvx
Replied by loudhvx on topic Removing battery and all that goes with it
If you don't want to hack into the harness you will need the battery.

If you want to get rid of the battery, and it's truly a 78 750 twin (and not a 76 or 77), then you should be able to replace it with a big capacitor. (5000 to 10,000 microfarad, 50volt). But you will have to hack the harness. You will have to alter it so you can turn off all of the lights while starting. Your ignition will have to be rock solid. And you will have to make sure it's tuned well enough to start on one kick pretty reilably. It's usually best to tune it with the battery first, before getting rid of it.

The best thing would probably be to get an AGM Scorpion battery from BatteryStuff.com. They are not cheap, though, but worth it to never have to worry about acid again.

More
10 Jun 2014 23:11 #636109 by 1978kz750