could use some help starting on a kz750 ltd projec

More
13 Jan 2014 18:31 #618501 by colby_nealy
HI, im new to the forum. I just got a 1981 kz750 ltd, and it needs some love to say the least. I've always had project cars and am pretty handy, but I've never done a bike this old before. Im going to try and build a cafe racer style bike I'm really hoping I haven't gotten in over my head. The bike appears to be all there, but I'm already experiencing wiring problems. I haven't even been able to try to turn it over because I'm getting no response from the start button. Does anyone know where I can find a good service manual or some wiring diagrams? I figure that would be a good place to start. Any suggestions on what could be preventing it from even trying to start would also be helpful. I got the bike on Craig's list so I know very little about it. The guy rewired it and I'm hoping he didn't screw anything up :/

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Jan 2014 18:33 #618502 by 650ed
Are you pulling in the clutch lever when trying to start it? Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

More
13 Jan 2014 23:36 #618522 by colby_nealy
Replied by colby_nealy on topic could use some help starting on a kz750 ltd projec
yeah i held the clutch, its in neutral anyway but i tried it. it doesnt do anything, doesnt even make a sound. i think maybe the starter relay is bad. i noticed quiet a bit of rust on the nuts holding the wires on. figured maybe thats creating a bad connection or something? but there are several wires not connected to anything on the bike and i have no idea what they go to, so maybe its as simple as something not being connected. but i traced the wires and none of them seem to be related to the starter.

More
14 Jan 2014 03:34 #618526 by Geeebeee
I am new to this too, but had issues getting my 550 ltd started also.