Charging question on 305 CSR

More
03 Nov 2013 14:17 #611963 by happyhunter
Charging question on 305 CSR was created by happyhunter
I've been looking for my first motorcycle and came across a 82 305 CSR. I looked at it today. The guy said he had it on a trickle charger overngiht and it still would not start. I checked the batter voltage read 8 VDC. We got it push started and I checked the voltage on the battery while it was running. It read 22 VDC and also had about 5 VAC across the battery terminals.

I am guessing the voltage regulator is bad. But that 22 VDC seems awfully high. Could there be more wrong with this than just the regulator? Do motorcycles use alternators or something else? I just figured they were generators and was surprised to see the AC component.

I am very new to motor cycles but have messed around with cars a good bit. Also being an Electrical Engineer gives me some (only a little bit) of insight into this charging problem. So, I really appreciate any help.

Thanks,
HH'

'82 Kawasaki KZ305CSR
I did not set out to buy a project bike,
but I got one anyway.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Nov 2013 15:06 #611965 by MFolks
Replied by MFolks on topic Charging question on 305 CSR
Go to www.electrosport.com and find their troubleshooting page. They also sell stators(the wire windings) and regulators & rectifiers(although, most bikes have combination regs & rect. now

1982 GPZ1100 B2
General Dynamics/Convair 1983-1993
GLCM BGM-109 Tomahawk, AGM-129A Advanced Cruise Missile (ACM)

More
04 Nov 2013 03:40 #612006 by happyhunter
Replied by happyhunter on topic Charging question on 305 CSR
MFolks,
thanks for the link. That is a great site. I will be reading at lunch today.

Thanks!!
HH

'82 Kawasaki KZ305CSR
but I got one anyway.

More
04 Nov 2013 06:19 - 21 Nov 2013 06:47 #612012 by martin_csr
Replied by martin_csr on topic Charging question on 305 CSR