Starter not working! Please HELP!

More
30 Sep 2013 00:19 #608291 by Mousley
Starter not working! Please HELP! was created by Mousley
Hey everyone, I'm new to motorcycles and I have my first problem. I bought a 1982 kz650 and love it. The push starter died after a short trip to work two days ago and I had to roll down a hill and bump start it. The next morning I had a double at work so all I could do was check the battery and make sure the terminals were clean and tight. Everything checked out good. I don't have much expertise with electrical wires so I'm really starting to worry I wont be able to ride my new bike for some time.

Please guys and girls give me some direction on the First thing I should do and the things that should follow if the first thing does not work. Where should I start? I really want to fix this myself without taking it to a mechanic. Thanks in advance to anyone who can share some knowledge with this newbie. THANKS.

1982 KZ 650

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Sep 2013 00:49 #608293 by MFolks
Replied by MFolks on topic Starter not working! Please HELP!
Starter Solenoid/Motor Checkout Procedure

Some simple steps to determine what is working and what's not:

1.Fully charge and test the battery(most bike shops can load test the battery, and then use a floating ball hydrometer to check specific gravity in the charged cells).

2.Clean all battery terminals of corrosion.

3.Tighten all starting related connections(Positive RED(+) battery terminal, Negative BLACK(-)terminal) and from the terminal to the engine case. All connections must be clean and tight. If the cables feel “Crunchy” when flexed, they may have corrosion inside the insulation, requiring replacement.

4.Clean the cable from the starter solenoid to the starter motor.

5.Clean and check the "bullet connectors" going to the coil side of the starter solenoid.