1980 kz750h starter solenoid relay/ idling problem

More
12 Jun 2013 23:27 #592038 by ErT
Most likely a newb question, but i'm not too good with working on bikes.. I believe I need a new starter solenoid ( can start it by crossing the pegs) but is there a certain amperage relay I need or will any work? lol.. I plan on getting a new battery as well with the relay on payday.. I have no money to buy a manual yet either so I also wanted to know about my idling.. Which it doesn't seem to want to idle ... I've yet to have more than 2 hours to mess with it due to working and just buying it 3 days ago, but it kept shutting off instead of idling.. So I took it out for a 20-30 minute ride and back to see if it warmed up and as I expected I put it in neutral and came to a stop and it idled for 5-10 seconds and shut right off.. Since i'm kind of new to bikes( grew up on dirtbikes but never messed with a bike like this) im not sure how to set the idling or any of that.. Also seemed to want to die unless full choke.. any help is appreciated! I have alot to learn ahhh :blush:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Motor Head
  • User
  • FIX UP YOUR BIKE RIGHT AND CHEAP
More
13 Jun 2013 09:41 #592077 by Motor Head
Before you buy another solenoid. Try powering up the relay coil side, thats the two small wires. One is power the other is ground. It could well be a bad switch at the handlebar, or a loose connection.
While you can get a new Kawasaki solenoid, or a used Feebay one. You can also go and get one for a ride on lawn motor with electric start. These can be had new for < $20.

1982 KZ1000LTD K2 Vance & Hines 4-1 ACCEL COILS Added Vetter fairing & Bags. FOX Racing rear Shocks, Braced Swing-arm, Fork Brace, Progressive Fork Springs RT Gold Emulators, APE Valve Springs, 1166 Big Bore kit, RS34's, GPZ cams.
1980 KZ550LTD C1 Stock SOLD Miss it
1979 MAZDA RX7 in the works, 13B...
The following user(s) said Thank You: ErT

More