Bike isn't charging

More
16 Mar 2013 01:05 #577144 by SeattleKZ
Bike isn't charging was created by SeattleKZ
I assume the charging system gave up on my 1977 KZ1000. I was out riding tonight, I stopped for a bit and when I went to start the bike the battery was dead. I kick started it and it started fine. The problem is when I turn the head light on the bike dies. The battery is new and checks out fine. I have very little experience with electrical stuff.

How do I check the stater and how do I check the reg/rec.

If I discover that one of them is no good, is there an aftermarket stater or reg/rec that's better than a stock unit?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Mar 2013 01:34 #577146 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic Bike isn't charging

SeattleKZ wrote: I assume the charging system gave up on my 1977 KZ1000. I was out riding tonight, I stopped for a bit and when I went to start the bike the battery was dead. I kick started it and it started fine. The problem is when I turn the head light on the bike dies. The battery is new and checks out fine. I have very little experience with electrical stuff.

How do I check the stater and how do I check the reg/rec.

If I discover that one of them is no good, is there an aftermarket stater or reg/rec that's better than a stock unit?

battery is new and checks out fine.-- with a truly good fully charged battery, the bike should start and perform perfectly fine for many miles, without any charging system whatever.

Would remove the battery, assure the fluid levels are correct (if applicable), charge it overnight, and have it load-tested.

If the battery passes the load test, would reinstall it in the bike, being sure the terminal posts and connections are clean and snug.
And also making sure of having a good connection where the negative battery cable attaches to rear of the engine.

When the above items are up to snuff, then the charging system may be validly tested.