new to me kz1000p died while running

More
20 Jul 2012 22:09 #537386 by pocycle
new to me kz1000p died while running was created by pocycle
So, hello everyone I am a newbie to this site and thoiught I might send out a question. I have a 1991 kz1000p that I just purchased and it was running very either lean or rich. So I towed it home and had it running for all of 2 minutes and it shut off! Now when I turn the key no lights come on. I checked the battery and its putting out 12.96 so I figure its not that. Any ideas? again I am a nube and plan on learning a lot about my bike before I even ride it on a regular basis. (don't want to get stuck) So please accept my apologies if the questions I will be asking seem ignorant.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Jul 2012 22:31 #537388 by richard_oxon
Replied by richard_oxon on topic new to me kz1000p died while running
hi po , i to am newbie here :) but i would check your main fuse if that blown u would have no power .. seems these old bikes suffer from alot of bad connections . i bought my kz1000 ltd a month of so ago ,and had to clean all my connections and fuse box connections as i to was blowing the main fuse ..

** KZ1000 B3 1979 ** 1015cc wiseco pistons 33 smoothbores ported head 410 cams
** KZ1000 A1 1977** 1075 wiseco pistons 438 megacycle cams ported head rs34 flat slides
The following user(s) said Thank You: pocycle

More
21 Jul 2012 01:45 #537409 by Tomolu5
Replied by Tomolu5 on topic new to me kz1000p died while running
+1 on the main fuse, connection there seems a rather common problem. I have seen a lot of talk of upgrading the fuse block to a blade type set-up, but don't have any real how-to knowledge for you on that

Mine:
04 Honda rebel 250(wifes)
04 GSXR 750(bolt on galore)
98 CBR 600F3(filter, pipe, adjustable cam sprokets, dyno tune)