charging problem ! think...

• airbusmeister
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
22 Feb 2012 06:09 #505609 by airbusmeister
charging problem ! think... was created by airbusmeister
okay guys I'm new to this bike so I'm hoping you all could help it is driving me insane i have run out of possible causes. I bought the bike a 1978 kz650 and replaced the battery and charged it fully overnight. installed the battery got the bike running and it was not charging and i found out the hard way after several starts and stop the charge was drained from the electric start. i was told it was the stator , so i removed the old one which definitely smelled as if it was burned out , had that distinctive burnt electrical smell, and just yesterday i replaced the stator and the bike ran flawlessly and seemed to stay charged. i ran around town stopping at different places stop and starting the bike at least 10 times and it started flawlessly. went to work parked the bike and come out from work and the battery was dead. ignition was obviously not left on because the key was removed. so i got the bike started by popping the clutch and it ran i let it warm up and at the first stop light it dies and will not restart of course with the lactic start or kick start. so i am assuming the reg/rec might be the problem or the bike would have not started earlier in the day. seeing as all of the stop and starts would have drained the battery very quickly. the people i bought the bike from replaced the reg/rec right before i bought the bike the only though is maybe it is wired wrong? oe maybe since they removed all of the turn signals , horn etc, there is a loose wire that is grounding out on the bike when it is parked , draining the battery as it sits. if you have any idea what it could be please let me know or if you know how i could diagnose it i open to any ideas , seeing as it currently sits in the office depot parking lot less than a block from work :( Thank you Cody