testing coil?750 twin, urgent, 1 day to work on it

• newowner79kz750b1
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • 79 kz750b4
More
23 Aug 2011 01:17 #471098 by newowner79kz750b1
testing coil?750 twin, urgent, 1 day to work on it was created by newowner79kz750b1
i have a manual for my kz750 twin but it says that i need a special tool from kawasaki to test my coil. but ive read tons of people testing it with an ohm meter. i have a emgo coil from z1 but i seem not to have any spark. when i hooked it up i had great spark and now i dont so i want to test it. what do i set the multimeter too. where do i place the + and - terminals from the ohm meter. what should it read. the more details and simple terms the better for me. im very new to motorcycles and have been tryin to learn as much as i can so that i can ride my bike for the first time this year before it snows. thanks everyone!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• newowner79kz750b1
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • 79 kz750b4
More
23 Aug 2011 02:01 #471105 by newowner79kz750b1
Replied by newowner79kz750b1 on topic testing coil?750 twin, urgent, 1 day to work on it
nm guys. i found another manual for the kz750 thats hows how to do it!

More
23 Aug 2011 09:50 #471143 by TexasKZ
Typing the words,"coil test" into the search box brought up this useful thread--- www.kzrider.com/forum/4-electrical/47017...ulator-and-al#470186

1982 KZ1000 LTD parts donor
1981 KZ1000 LTD awaiting resurrection
2000 ZRX1100 not ridden enough

More
23 Aug 2011 15:36 - 23 Aug 2011 15:39 #471187 by bountyhunter
Replied by bountyhunter on topic testing coil?750 twin, urgent, 1 day to work on it
There is no way to accurately bench test a coil other than replacing it and seeing if the problem goes away.