No Spark from the plugs after new coils.

More
12 Jul 2011 22:06 #462548 by uncledirt
No Spark from the plugs after new coils. was created by uncledirt

Attachment dynaasis_2011-07-12.png not found

Attachment dynaasis_2011-07-12.png not found

Arg, I'm back. Kz 650 "77 modelC

Looked at all the forums and still have reservations on a few things. I've talked to Loudhv, Patton and had a few others sent some advice my way and it's been helpful, but..... I'm running into myself probably. I never have much time but I'm trying to get on the bike lately and here's where I'm at. Ohm checks on the coils primary 4.5, secondary 24k +-. Getting power to from the red/yellow just fine before the coils. Checked all connections, they're good. Harness is intact from before (wrapped tightly) and is good. Took the plugs out and reconnected to the caps, left them hanging and turned the starter, no sparks. Now, if there's something I'm missing 'there', let me know cuz I'm no expert on electrical tests but I can run a volt meter. Dyna was good before getting the new coils and I've gotten thumbs up from Patton that my set up is right (splitter from Dyna etc). I tried last week to get er runnin but she barely kicked and then basically nothing and man I tried. I have 2 points. 1, my coils suck regardless and my dyna is good, or (2) I blew the dyna somehow. I've seen writing here that the ohm test doesn't mean shit and your screwed. That the dyna took a shite and won't feed the coils now. Basically it has come down to the tests. If I follow what dynatek says, I have to turn the ignition on, test inside the caps, etc, and see my reading. Fine, but that goes against what I've read here. By doing that, I'm going to short out the coils, or the dyna, or both! Tomorrow, I'm going to test the dyna per their instructions since I have no choice at this point. Can someone enlighten me on the best way to test the spark plugs while they're connected, and perhaps the best way to test the dyna, I don't r