Square one!

More
26 May 2011 18:03 #453726 by Wolfpaak
Square one! was created by Wolfpaak
Hello fellas! I am working on a 1980 KZ 1000 classic with EFI. This is my Brother In Laws "new" bike. The electrics that are/were under the seat and side covers are disconnected and the fuel system, up to the fuel rail, has been taken out and apart. I have a clymers manual and it has been helpful on getting the parts back in so far.
I have a new battery and its FULLY charged but when I put it in and tried to turn over the motor nothing happend. All lights work, horn too. But I couldn't here the fuel pump, pump, and the starter didn't even wimper.
Here is my FIRST question. Does EVERYTHING have to be hooked up,ie electtrics and fuel system for the motor to turn over,(complete circuts).
This is my first attempt at fixing an EFI anything! I work on OLD snowmobiles and most any small engine. But they are all CARBS.
Any starting point you can give will be appreciated!
Thanks!
LAter,
Kenny

1980 KZ 1000 Classic EFI

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 May 2011 19:06 #453734 by roy-b-boy-b
Replied by roy-b-boy-b on topic Square one!
If the fuel pump was rum without gas it is probably fried.

Cluth safety switch. Pull the clutch in then hit the starter. Roy

1979 LTD Street Fighter.1977 KZ1000

More
26 May 2011 19:22 #453739 by Wolfpaak
Replied by Wolfpaak on topic Square one!
OHHHH the simple things in life! My bike doesn't have that feature!!!Rolls over fine! Thanks Roy!
Fuel pump still not working. Do they kind of click when the key is turned "ON"? I have a KLT 250 that does that. I wait till it stops clicking before I "start" it. Same thing here?
Thanks a million!
Kenny

1980 KZ 1000 Classic EFI

More
26 May 2011 20:17 #453752 by MFolks
Replied by MFolks on topic Square one!
A picture of how it should look: www.redlinecycle.com/Mvc-002J.html

www.redlinecycle.com/Fuel%20Injection.html

More information:

1980 KZ 1000 G1 (Z1 Classic)