78 kz650 charging issue - someone please confirm

• BizzareCustoms
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
06 Apr 2011 22:34 #443109 by BizzareCustoms
78 kz650 charging issue - someone please confirm was created by BizzareCustoms
so im building a 78 kz650 bobber and had to make my own harness before i could even begin to get the bike to run. now i am having issues with it not charging. I am an ASE certified master mechanic with 8 years shop experience and do tons of custom fabrication, electronics, and wiring so please dont just start saying my harness is at fault. everything else works perfect but with that said im also not perfect and it may be the way i wired so if you legitimately have a reason to suspect my wiring please say so and why. ill give as much info as possible.

I hooked the two yellow wires coming off the generator to the two yellow wired coming off the regulator/rectifier
black/yellow wire from reg./rec. is going to ground
white/red wire from reg./rec. is going to a switched battery power. (put it to switched power cause found it was staying hot, in temperature, and killing the battery.)

with a meter on the yellow wires i have 20-28 ac volts at idle (no one with me to rev up)
suspected bad ground so i put my meter on the battery and found the when i jump the ground, even straight to the battery ground, the voltage goes down like the reg./rec. is actually pulling power away. unjump and battery voltages rises back up and levels out again.
even tried to swap the two yellow wires thinking maybe i wired them backwards and there was an issues with a diode direction but that didnt change anything.

here is a video of the voltage dropping when i ground it and coming back up when i take it off. sorry wiring is still in mock up and not the cleaning and the bike hasnt been tuned yet. if you dont care to see it starting jump to 45 sec.