Alternator Wiring Question

More
21 Mar 2011 23:04 #439585 by TNBOBBER
Alternator Wiring Question was created by TNBOBBER
I'm new to the sight and having trouble wiring my charging circuits. I bought a 80 KZ1000 LTD, that had a melted wiring harness. I'm building a bobber out of it, so it was no big deal. I've got all the wiring worked out, thanks to this forum, all accepted for the charging system. I've found good descriptions of the wiring I have but not clear were they're to be wired. I've got 3 yellow wires (alternator outputs) going to the regulator/rectifier. One white w/red stripe wire going to battery. One black w/yellow wire from the regulator/rectifier (part of ground circuits) is this suppose to to ground? Next is the brown wire, from the regulator/rectifier (the voltage sense wire) were is this suppose to go? Thanks in advance for any help.

Sometimes God doesn't calm the storm, He calms us in the storm.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Mar 2011 23:18 #439593 by MFolks
Replied by MFolks on topic Alternator Wiring Question
The regulator/rectifier plug on the 80’s bikes usually has six wires in it:

A. One (1)WHITE with RED stripe, this is the bikes main power wire usually 12 gauge in size.

B. One(1) smaller Brown wire, probably 18 gauge or so, the voltage sense wire for the regulator/rectifier, helps keeping it from overcharging the battery.connect it to a steady 12 volt source(like the running or tail light circuit).

C. One(1) BLACK with YELLOW stripe wire, part of the ground circuits, maybe 16 gauge in size.

D. Three(3) YELLOW wires, maybe 14 gauge in size, the alternator output wires going to the regulator/rectifier which converts the Alternating Current(A.C.) to Direct Current(D.C.) using rectification, producing the power to run the motorcycle and charge the battery.

Does this help?

1982 GPZ1100 B2
General Dynamics/Convair 1983-1993
GLCM BGM-109 Tomahawk, AGM-129A Advanced Cruise Missile (ACM)

More