84 GPZ550 Electrical Probs

More
21 Sep 2010 19:19 #400739 by burkey1000
84 GPZ550 Electrical Probs was created by burkey1000
Hey guys im a newbie on here but not new to bikes. Its been a long time since i had one until one day at work a guy i worked with told me he had an old 84 GPZ550. I remember these bikes when they first came out. Anyway we got talking and he said he dropped it while riding one day and tore up the plastics, fairing etc so he took them all off the bike and dumped them with the intention of replacing them. He said the bike bike had stood in his shed for almost 6 years and just never got round to doing it. I asked him if he wanted to part with it so we struck a deal and i now own the bike.

After getting the bike home and cleaning the cobwebs of it i got a new battery and charged it to see what was what. The starter worked and the bike turns and yes i did put a small amout of oil down the plug holes and let it settle overnight before doing this. I already had the carbs off ready for stripping so i didnt try to fire it. I tested each plug and im getting a good spark from all them of them, so far so good, which means once the carbs are done the bike should run.

Now for the mess lol. I tried the other electrics and nothing. No lights, no blinkers, no neutral light, no horn, no nothing. After cleaning all the harness and contacts and plugs i managed to get the hazards working. so far thats it.
There is no headlight and blinkers on the bike as yet but i did test with a meter and using a bulb so i know the hazards work and the warning lights for them is working.

Not working is- rear light, brake light, blinkers, neutral light, clock lights, horn and fuel tank tank display. there is no headlamp so ive not tested that.

Ive tested the LH switch gear and all switches are working from the switches to the connector plug.