1982 kz550

• thelstthnguwillc
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
05 Aug 2010 19:18 #388498 by thelstthnguwillc
1982 kz550 was created by thelstthnguwillc
hey people im new to the riding world found myself a good deal on a 1982 kz 550 but i cant get it to run ive got it to crank as in turn over but im only getting spark on two plugs and there off the same coil my question is has anyone else had this same problem if so howd you fix it and id really like to know exactly how this system works in actually a auto mechanic but ive never touched a bike any help would be great. Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Aug 2010 19:54 #388515 by MFolks
Replied by MFolks on topic 1982 kz550
If your bike has the original ignition coils, they might be failing due to just age and cracks in the housings letting in moisture.

7mm sparkplug wires should fit your coils(that is if the sparkplug wires are not molded into the coils) If they are, www.z1enterprises.com sells new sparkplug caps and a NGK sparkplug splice:

www.z1enterprises.com/SearchResult.aspx?All=True&KeyWords=NGK

www.z1enterprises.com/detail.aspx?ID=1890

Z1 enterprises also sells replacement ignition coils.

To see if your coils are getting proper voltages, remove the gas tank,get a multimeter, set it on VDC(Volts,D.C.) range of 20, put the RED probe on the terminal where the RED wire is going,and the BLACK probe on a good ground place or the negative(-) battery post.

Turn the engine over and read the voltage, if the reading is below battery voltage(make sure the battery is fully charged), you have a voltage/current drop.

Since the igntion coils votage source is the run/stop start switch on the right handlebar switch pod, I'd look there for corrosion/broken wires/dead bugs.

With the ignition turned off and all wiring removed from the ignition coils, they can be checked using the multimeter this time set on "OHMS"