Charging system question

More
24 Jun 2010 18:02 #378028 by T_Dub
Charging system question was created by T_Dub
So, I have the old charging system with the separate regulator and rectifier. And I have a reg/reg from a modern bike. Why can't I just attach the modern reg-rec, and excite my field coil directly? I know I probably shouldn't, I just want to be told why not by someone who knows the theory behind it. OMR? loudhvx?

1977 KZ650B1
-810cc
-Cavanaugh Racing Head
-Mikuni RS34's
-GPR Muffler

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Jun 2010 18:13 #378033 by cobura
Replied by cobura on topic Charging system question
is the bike in question a kz650 B1? (listed in your signature)

I have the same bike. The previous owner thought the same thing and did just that, but it didn't work. Im not really good with electrics, but i did a lot of research and found out that the kz650 had a different type of alternator than the z1's and most other kz's. I made the mistake of first buying a new reg/rect for a Z1 to put on my kz650, later found out that it was impossible, wasted a bunch of money.

I ended up buying a new separate regulator and new separate rectifier from oregonmotorcyleparts.com as some people where recommended. They were cheap, and have lifetime warranties. Bolted on no problem and everything works great. I highly recommend doing the same.

1979 KZ650B3

More
24 Jun 2010 18:18 #378036 by T_Dub
Replied by T_Dub on topic Charging system question
Oh yeah thats the plan, except I'm gonna get a combined unit from Z1. I'm just curious as to the why thats all, engineering student mentality.

1977 KZ650B1
-810cc
-Cavanaugh Racing Head
-Mikuni RS34's
-GPR Muffler

More
25 Jun 2010 07:07 - 25 Jun 2010 07:27 #378130 by loudhvx
Replied by loudhvx on topic Charging system question