lighting problems?

More
07 May 2010 08:33 #366176 by motolou
lighting problems? was created by motolou
hey folks been a very long time since i posted and i was looking for a welcome forum to greet everyone it's been so long. anyhow, i build choppers for a living and am currently working on a 1977 kz1000 police chop. i am giving it a retro police bike look and am running the full police lights/sirens ect. my question concerns the lighting issue. when the bike is running without lights or anything it does fine but as soon as i start turning on the lights(running lights/pursuit lights) it seems to start running like crap. i was driveing it to the gas station last night for it's maiden voyage and i ended up having to go part of the way without lights it got so bad. when i test the volts across the battery running without the lights it reads just above 12 volts, then i give it gas and it reads just above 13 volts. haven't tried with the lights on, will try today. i understand that those bikes had a rectifier for the lighting which i haven't put on. could this possibly be the problem i am experiencing? if so does anyone have a simple drawing of how to connect the rectifier? i have seen the diagram but i am not really too good at decifering those things! well, thank you for your time, Lou

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 May 2010 08:43 #366179 by otakar
Replied by otakar on topic lighting problems?
That is because the Stock alternator output on that bike was about 12A at best. If you are running stock points the electrical system might be able to handle it but if you changed the bike to electronic ignition like a Dyna setup, it will draw about 6 amps. With a Quartz headlight that might be about 55/60W that is another 5A that leaves 1A for everything els. The 1979 and up bikes had a 20A electrical system because they had the headlights on at all time and had electronic ignitions.

74 Z1-A stock
76 KZ-900 Totaly stock vice MAC pipe