Headlight relay question

More
06 Feb 2010 20:00 #346957 by KYKZ1100
Headlight relay question was created by KYKZ1100
I'm planning to install a relay to have the headlight cut out while the starter is engaged as described by Bill Wilcox a while ago. I'm thinking of having the same setup for the taillights. Do I need two relays? I'm not an electrician but it seems like there would be a problem having both the headlight and taillights go through the same relay.

It may not be worth having a cut out for the taillights - LED bulbs may accomplish pretty much the same thing (i.e., less current draw while the starter is cranking) much more easily. Has anyone tried either of these?

1981 KZ1100A1 Shaft
2007 BMW R1200R

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Feb 2010 20:19 #346962 by MFolks
Replied by MFolks on topic Headlight relay question
I'd think if the relay contacts are rated for the current(AMPS),the relay should be able to turn on both headlight and tail light. Make sure you have enough contacts to be able to wire the headlight and tail light circuits as some have 4 contact and others 5.

Some relay information:
www.boardrelays.com/?gclid=CNzst_PAkZgCFRo-awodC2zVng
www.the12volt.com/relays/relays.asp
www.2carpros.com/how_to/how_do_i_check_a_relay.htm

1982 GPZ1100 B2
General Dynamics/Convair 1983-1993
GLCM BGM-109 Tomahawk, AGM-129A Advanced Cruise Missile (ACM)

More
06 Feb 2010 20:28 #346966 by MFolks
Another thought: I have an 82 GPz1100 B2 model, I got tired of having the headlight circuit come on while starting the engine. Since my bike has the reserve lighting device(it's designed to turn on high beam at reduced voltage if low beam goes out)I bypassed it with a handlebar toggle switch.