Strobed timing mark wobble question at low RPM?

• FloridaSteve
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
17 Oct 2009 10:39 #328031 by FloridaSteve
79 KZ650 with points. Now that I've got her running I'm working on some fine tuning. While setting the timing with a strobe at low RPM off the #4 wire (I assume this would be the exact same as the #1?) I get a noticeable wobble back and forth under the strobe. It's big enough to "walk" back and forth between a distance equal to the F and T marks. Should I be looking at my advancer even at low RPM or...???? I admit to being a points noob here as every bike I have has had electronic ignition either stock or installed (as this one will soon) so even obvious stuff is appreciated..

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Oct 2009 10:44 #328032 by timebomb33
Replied by timebomb33 on topic Strobed timing mark wobble question at low RPM?
what do you have the idle set at. also have you set the points with a dwellmeter or just staticlly with feeler gauges

1973 z1 2-1974z1-a,2-1975z1-b dragbikes1015cc+1393cc, 1977kz1000,1978kz1000,1981kz1000j, 1997 zx-11, 2000 z12r,1428turbo nitrous pro-mod and a shit load of parts thats all for now leader sask.,CANADA
I THINK MY POWERBAND BROKE

• FloridaSteve
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
17 Oct 2009 13:53 #328046 by FloridaSteve
Replied by FloridaSteve on topic Strobed timing mark wobble question at low RPM?
Idle is about 1000 rpm and it's set with a feeler gauge.

More
17 Oct 2009 14:06 #328047 by 650ed
Check to see if is does it on the 2/3 set of points. If the strobe doesn't wobble on the 2/3 set I don't think it could be related to the advancer otherwise it would affect both points sets. Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

More
17 Oct 2009 14:42 - 17 Oct 2009 14:44 #328054 by bountyhunter
Replied by bountyhunter on topic Strobed timing mark wobble question at low RPM?