question about spark plug wires and coils

• cobura
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • forever 2 wheels
More
12 Oct 2009 09:24 #327037 by cobura
So i started the restoration of my 77 kz650 b1 this weekend. Spent two days cleaning and rebuilding the carbs, so im making progress. my next area of concern is the plug wires. The previous owner covered them in electrical tape after they began to crack, so of course i will be replacing them.

This is my first build, and i am still fairly new to much of this. My dumb question is, if i want to replace the plug wires and coils, do i need to buy some that are designed for the 650? I was thinking to pick up a new set of eccel plugs and coils, but i wasnt sure what the specifications are. Thanks for the help.

1979 KZ650B3

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Oct 2009 10:41 #327054 by MFolks
Replied by MFolks on topic question about spark plug wires and coils
If the sparkplug wires are replaceable(check the coils and see if the caps unscrew)you can use 7MM wires available at most good speed shops. Some places sell it by the foot, others sell kits for cars.

If the wires are sealed to the coils, Z1 sells NGK sparkplug splices: www.z1enterprises.com/SearchResult.aspx?...eyWords=NGK%20splice .

Most ignition coils are rated by ohms, some riders use 2.2 to 3 ohms for their bikes, again z1 sells just about any part for these older bikes.

I believe z1 also sells the sparkplug caps too.

Avoid using sparkplug caps with resistance sparkplug wires as this may reduce the spark energy. Use good copper plug wires with the caps and it should work well.

I'd also suggest checking the primary side of the coils(small wire side) for proper input voltages. With the battery fully charged, you should read almost the same as battery voltage. If it's down around 7-10 volts, your bike could benefit from doing a popular relay bypass.

Read up on it at www.wgcarbs.com .

1982 GPZ1100 B2
General Dynamics/Convair 1983-1993