No idea

More
13 Sep 2009 16:17 #321383 by Jettster
No idea was created by Jettster
I'm a newbie to this forum and the motorcycle world, I've been riding for 4 months and love it! I've got an '81 KZ650 that has been running great since I put in the new battery, exhaust and rebuilt the carbs. I had it parked for about a month (I just opened a new business and haven't had time) and went to start her and she turned over a few times and just makes a single clicking sound when I press the start button (like when the battery is dead). It is a new battery, and my trickle charger says it has at least 80% of the charge. If I let it set for a few days and try to start it, it turns over and then the clicking is back. Any ideas? Thanks for any advice or suggestions.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Sep 2009 16:37 #321385 by MFolks
Replied by MFolks on topic No idea
All battery connections must be clean and tight for maximum current transfer. Try this guide for troubleshooting wether the problem is in the starter or solenoid:

Starter Solenoid Checkout

Some simple steps to determine what is working and what's not:

1.Fully charge and test the battery(most bike shops can load test the battery, and then use a floating ball hydrometer to check specific gravity in the charged cells).

2.Clean all battery terminals of corrosion.

3.Tighten all starting related connections(Positive RED(+) battery terminal, Negative BLACK(-)terminal) and from the terminal to the engine case. All connections must be clean and tight.

4.Clean the cable from the starter solenoid to the starter motor.

5.Clean and check the "bullet connectors" going to the coil side of the starter solenoid.

6.Try again to start the bike.

7.If no luck, go to step #8

8.Wearing eye protection, bridge with pliers or a screwdriver the two heavy duty(large)terminals on the solenoid. If the bike cranks, your solenoid may be bad.