I Replaced the stator, and it still won't charge

More
16 Aug 2009 23:20 - 16 Aug 2009 23:24 #314514 by e28rusty
Hi all, and thanks in advance for any help, I've been lurking for a while, but I'm sort of stumped now.
A brief introduction... I just bought a 78 KZ1000 LTD in kind of rough shape, I've already changed the bars from the bent-up LTD bars that were on it to euro bars, and my new front tire should be in tomorrow (BT45, to match the rear). I've been riding dirt since I could walk, and I've been riding street for a few years now, '05 ninja 250 to '97 cbr 600 to honda elite 80 (more fun than you'd think), and now the kz. I'm hoping to keep the kz for longer, and improve it, and actually maintain it instead of reaming on it and selling it broken, which I've been known to do in the past. :blush:

Anyway, I replaced the stator after checking the resistance and finding it out of spec according to my clymer manual. But the bike still doesn't charge. ~11.5 volts while running, and it pooped out on me yesterday. My regulator/rectifier appears to be aftermarket-- It says VoltPak by Action Engineering of Riverside CA. I did a couple quick checks with the voltmeter after work and found that with the stator unplugged, the AC voltage readings (from an individual yellow lead to ground) were the same (I don't recall what they were), but with the stator plugged in, the same test showed 2 leads at ~8 vac and one at 25 vac.

I've been looking at the ElectroSport troubleshooting guide, and it's making me want to try the tests with a fresh battery, but I'm pretty sure I need to replace the R/R. If you agree, is there a unit I should be looking at that's better than the others? I noticed 2 on z1enterprises and 1 on the electrosport site.

sorry for a long post, here's a "before" pic of the bike to soothe your eyes. I'm thinking metallic olive/deep green to replace the pink, but I'm sorting the mechanics of the bike before I buy paint...

Last edit: 16 Aug 2009 23:24 by e28rusty.