Barn Find 1978 KZ200 is fighting with me!

More
24 Jul 2009 18:46 #309126 by deezil
Several months back I bought a Little KZ200 from a fellow at work. After months of searching for a Front cable actuated caliper I Finally got it ready for the road.

It has always ran, but I had to do the typical Carb dip and fluids. The Bike only has 13k on it.

Long story short......... I fired up the bike to put some miles on it and it slowly lost more and more power until it died and left me stranded after about 5 minutes.

I found I have no fire and I Noticed the coil has oozed a thick white paste out of both ends. I Assume the coil is fried?

The Bike has points. Could this be converted to a car type points coil you think? Anything else I need to check that would cause it not to have fire?

I am pretty new to the Old bike scene and would greatly appreciate your help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Jul 2009 19:09 #309133 by MFolks
Replied by MFolks on topic Barn Find 1978 KZ200 is fighting with me!
Anytime an ignition coil developes cracks or the innards start to ooze out, it's time for a new coil.

I'd guess a 3 ohm coil would work and while you're at it replace the sparkplug caps and possibly the sparkplug wire too.

I'd ask at www.z1enterprises.com and see if they can help you in your parts search.

1982 GPZ1100 B2
General Dynamics/Convair 1983-1993
GLCM BGM-109 Tomahawk, AGM-129A Advanced Cruise Missile (ACM)

More
24 Jul 2009 20:14 #309151 by deezil
Replied by deezil on topic Barn Find 1978 KZ200 is fighting with me!
Yikes! The Price for these coils are almost as much as I paid for the bike.

Would a Points style automotive coil work for this as a replacment?

Would a Coil go bad just like that? Parts are UBer hard to find for this little bike.

More
24 Jul 2009 20:23 #309153 by loudhvx
Replied by loudhvx on topic Barn Find 1978 KZ200 is fighting with me!
deezil wrote: