1978 KZ 650 Headlight isn't working

More
23 May 2009 13:52 #293510 by Teh Nap
1978 KZ 650 Headlight isn't working was created by Teh Nap
My mechanic tested the contacts and they weren't getting any power...my turn signals and everything else seem to be working fine so he thinks it's a problem with the switch. I'm a total newb and still haven't had a chance to get a repair manual so I'm wondering if there's anybody that can help me out. I'm leaving for a trip to St Louis from Indianapolis on Monday and my mechanic won't have a chance to look at it so I need all the help I can get. Thanks!

1978 KZ 650

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 May 2009 14:10 #293514 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic 1978 KZ 650 Headlight isn't working
Teh Nap wrote:

My mechanic tested the contacts and they weren't getting any power...my turn signals and everything else seem to be working fine so he thinks it's a problem with the switch. I'm a total newb and still haven't had a chance to get a repair manual so I'm wondering if there's anybody that can help me out. I'm leaving for a trip to St Louis from Indianapolis on Monday and my mechanic won't have a chance to look at it so I need all the help I can get. Thanks!

Would assure the headlight bulb isn't burned out.

Could try spraying WD40 inside the switch while manipulating the switch to see whether the headlight starts burning.

Might be power wire to switch instead of the switch itself, or a problem in the ignition switch.

Don't know if there's a separate fuse to the headlight that might be blown or loose.

Good Luck! :)

1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD

More
23 May 2009 14:19 #293515 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic 1978 KZ 650 Headlight isn't working
If a wiring diagram is desired, here's one link to downloadable color wiring diagram, found by clicking on "Filebase" under "KZ Information" (in the green ribbon toward top of screen), then navigating to year and then model.
Downloadable Wiring Diagram