1980 KZ750G Twin only cranks.

More
08 May 2009 21:29 #289259 by Bek82
1980 KZ750G Twin only cranks. was created by Bek82
So I'm still pretty new with learning on this motorcycle but here's the quick summary. Cleaned out the tank and carb and new plugs. Would not start, checked the plugs and plugs were dry, recleaned the carbs and cranks but won't start. Tried testing for a spark by holding the plug next to the frame and there was no spark. Since these are brand new plugs I'm guessing something is wrong with the ignition coils. so my question is...
1. Are ignition coils interchangeable between the different 750 twins? I checked the parts number and they are different but I'm wondering if it will matter all that much...
2. How do you remove this ignition coil? It seems trapped in the frame, and it looks like I have to unscrew what seems to be engine mounts in order to get this off...Didn't want to try this before I knew it was okay to do so. From what I can tell the ignition wires are a single unit with the coil so removing the wires or checking for continuity between the coil and wire is useless since I cant take the two apart. So I think I'm looking at buying a new coil unless someone has a better idea.

Oh and in case you were wondering, the oil has been changed, the headlights, gauges and turn signals all work. The starter cranks but does not turn the engine over. I could be wrong but since the headlight and instrumental is working doesn't this mean that the coil is receiving power from the battery? Correct me if I'm wrong but I thought it would be a safe assumption.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 May 2009 22:37 - 08 May 2009 22:43 #289274 by bountyhunter
Replied by bountyhunter on topic 1980 KZ750G Twin only cranks.
Bek82 wrote:

1. Are ignition coils interchangeable between the different 750 twins? I checked the parts number and they are different but I'm wondering if it will matter all that much....