77' Kz750BE No spark?

More
08 May 2009 12:46 #289064 by Clayton!
77' Kz750BE No spark? was created by Clayton!
I'm pretty new to this scene, recently acquired this Kz750 as "ready to ride with some tlc" The bike itself is in pretty good shape, other than an absolutely disgusting build up in the tank. To the point, I am getting power from the points to the coils, but not from the coils to the plugs? Yes this is a symptom of bad coils, but they have already been replaced with coils that came out of a already running bike. Is there something I am missing?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 May 2009 13:36 - 08 May 2009 13:37 #289073 by bountyhunter
Replied by bountyhunter on topic 77' Kz750BE No spark?
Use an Ohm meter to check continuity from the points wire at the coil (which on my 750B4 is a blue wire) down to the points.

Turn the ignition OFF to do ohm tests.

If that is good, check from that wire to ground and you should read high resistance with the points open and zero when they close.

If you have 12V at the hot side of the coil primary and the points are breaking the blue wires continuity to ground, you should get a spark. If not, the coil is dead or the spark plug is fouled.

1979 KZ-750 Twin
Last edit: 08 May 2009 13:37 by bountyhunter.

More
08 May 2009 15:34 - 08 May 2009 22:52 #289110 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic 77' Kz750BE No spark?
Clayton! wrote:

I'm pretty new to this scene, recently acquired this Kz750 as "ready to ride with some tlc" The bike itself is in pretty good shape, other than an absolutely disgusting build up in the tank. To the point, I am getting power from the points to the coils, but not from the coils to the plugs? Yes this is a symptom of bad coils, but they have already been replaced with coils that came out of a already running bike. Is there something I am missing?