Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

reg./rect. 1980 25 Feb 2006 08:20 #26314

• djs699
  • djs699's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
I'm new to biking, again. Last bike I owned was 30 years ago. I just bought a bike, used of course, and it seems to have turned out it's a 1977 chassis with a 80 A4 motor. I need a regulator/rect. for it and have seen the numbers on two that read sh230-12 9.d, and sh230-12 8.y. Dealers says they mean nothing but a vendor number to Kawasaki. What do they mean? Will either or both work? Bike has Dyna ignition.

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

reg./rect. 1980 25 Feb 2006 14:38 #26398

• Duck
  • User
  • e vica na i sau na ga
  • Thank you received: 35
You can use a reg/rect from just about any bike as long as you wire it up correctly.

Most of them are basic three phase rectifier with some noise suppression. Most use zener diodes as shunt regulators to prevent overcharge of the battery.

Do a little perusal of various schemes from different vendors bikes of the same vintage. There are plenty of them on the WWW and plenty of discussion re: constructing ones own, adapting from other bikes, etc.

-Duck

reg./rect. 1980 25 Feb 2006 17:10 #26438

• loudhvx
  • KZr Legend
  • Thank you received: 1615
Duck wrote:

You can use a reg/rect from just about any bike as long as you wire it up correctly.

Most of them are basic three phase rectifier with some noise suppression. Most use zener diodes as shunt regulators to prevent overcharge of the battery.

Do a little perusal of various schemes from different vendors bikes of the same vintage. There are plenty of them on the WWW and plenty of discussion re: constructing ones own, adapting from other bikes, etc.

-Duck

If by "any" bike you mean a KZ from the same period using the same type of alternator, then I agree.

"Noise suppression" on a rectifier? That's a new one on me.