Electrical contact cleaner/preservative

More
16 Dec 2008 12:44 #253045 by MFolks
Many guys here probably use Wd-40 on the electrical contacts on their bikes like the fuse clips,bullet connectors, etc. I used to until the day I went to start my bike; turned the key, no fuel pump sound,horn,or lights.

My first thought was the battery died or the ground cable came loose but I had rode just that morning with no problem.
I happened to have some 400 grit sandpaper in my tool kit and by removing the older glass tubed fuses one at a time,scratching the now insulating film from the fuses and clips was able to get home. I later removed this film from the rest of the bikes electrical connectors.

I've been using an electrical contact cleaner for many years made by Caig Labs out of San Diego Ca. www.caig.com is the website. I use it on audio patch cords, cordless phone charging cradles and all electrical connectors on my bike.

1982 GPZ1100 B2
General Dynamics/Convair 1983-1993
GLCM BGM-109 Tomahawk, AGM-129A Advanced Cruise Missile (ACM)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• H2RICK
  • User
  • Is this a fun bike, or what!!!
More
16 Dec 2008 19:33 #253132 by H2RICK
Replied by H2RICK on topic Electrical contact cleaner/preservative
Yep, there are a variety of folks making that kind of stuff and it's faaaaar better for that its intended purpose than WD40.
However, those electronics-type sprays won't last in a motorcycle environment and really should be used more as a
cleaner rather than a long-life protectant.
What you SHOULD be applying on a bike's connectors, etc AFTER using the spray cleaner of your choice is some dielectric grease for long-life corrosion prevention. Dielectric grease will last for years on the average bike in most connector applications. It also offers a certain level of waterproofing as well.
It's widely available at auto chain stores and is sometimes sold as "tuneup grease".