Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

fuel system and battery? 03 Dec 2005 06:51 #11552

• JonQPublic
  • JonQPublic's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
I am new to riding and a 1981 750ltd is my first bike. As I learn to ride it, I am also learning how it works.
Today, my task is to replace a simple tube that runs from below the gas tank to the battery. My question is this: why in the heck is a hose delivering gas to my battery? I have observed that it happens when the engine is having a little 'down time'.
Forgive me, I don't have a very good concept of how cars work either but I am pretty sure that my car battery is not filled with gasoline.
Have I completely misunderstood the way this system works, or have I been sucking in the fumes of the huge puddle of gas in my garage?

Kind regards,
Jon

P.S. - I don't know much about motorcycles, but I have recently come to realize that the '81 750 LTD is the most enjoyable machine that mankind has ever conceived!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

fuel system and battery? 03 Dec 2005 06:59 #11553

• rstnick
  • User
  • Thank you received: 374
There should NOT be a hose connecting the Gas Tank to the Battery. I would think you're either seeing the vent tube from the battery which usually comes off the battery and goes down the frame and out the bottom somewhere, not attched to anything, to just vent the battery. Or it's a fuel or Vacuum line that should be connected to the carburators somewhere, depending on if it's the fuel or Vacuum.

Is your bike running? (Then you better go catch it! :laugh: ) Just kidding. I would suspect your bike doesn't run if it's either the fuel or vacuum lines.

Follow this tube you speak of and make sure both ends are attached as you describe.

Do you have a service manual for your bike for reference? If not, you should get one. Take a picture and post it up. That could help us solve the mystery.