Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

83 KZ550 H Carb Questions 11 Aug 2013 16:07 #600862

• Jedsdead
  • Jedsdead's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2
I'm new to working on bikes, but have an 83 KZ550 that I have started on. It did not run for 10 years before I got it. I was able to start the bike after some playing, but would not idle and one cylinder was not working.

I took the carbs off and planned on cleaning them up. I have the Clymers manual and watched several videos for background (although none dealt specifically with my model).

I started with one of the middle carbs. I removed the top cap and spring, and carefully pulled out the diaphragm and needle valve. They were not too dirty. I removed the float bowl cover. Quite a mess on the bottom of the bowl. I removed the float valve and needle...they were fairly clean.

But from here, I'm starting to get a little confused. My carb has three tubes coming up. I removed what I thought was the Main jet and Pilot Jet. Both were fairly clean. But there is a third tube with a brown plastic plug or stopper in the top. Upon going back to the manual (which I will say is not a big help here as it shows a top view but not a bottom one), it looks like I had removed the Primary Main Jet and Secondary Main jet (at least the top of it). But the manual refers to the plug and the pin under it as the Pilot Jet, which the manual simply says to remove. My questions are:

1) is this brown plug actually the top of the pilot jet, or is the manual referring to the pin coming up from the top 'V' of the bowl as the pilot jet (with the external plug)...and if so, what is this brown plug.
2) how do I remove it....just pull hard? I really don't want to wreck anything

I've attached a picture below.

Attachment IMG-20130811-00052.jpg not found