Syncing KZ750 (four) carbs?

More
09 Oct 2009 20:44 #326500 by polkat
Syncing KZ750 (four) carbs? was created by polkat
I'm a pretty good car mechanic, but am somewhat new to motorcycles. The '82 KZ750 I just got (4 cyl) runs a bit hot, shakes a bit especially in the lower rpm's, and rattles the primary chain a bit, also at lower rpm's. I was told by a friend that syncing the carbs might clear a lot of that up. My idea of syncing carbs is that they all open the very same amount and provide the very same amount of fuel, at the same time. From my reading, it appears that special tools are needed that I can't afford, let alone paying a shop to do it.

I want to try this, but is there any simple (or simpler) approach to doing it?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• TeK9iNe
  • User
  • What did you do!?!
More
10 Oct 2009 06:29 - 10 Oct 2009 06:29 #326564 by TeK9iNe
Replied by TeK9iNe on topic Syncing KZ750 (four) carbs?
If the engine is in fairly good order, ie (compression, ignition, carbs REALLY clean). Then a good bench sync will provide a rideable starting point. Depending on the type of carbs - do you know which ones you have?

If your not sure about the engine, then you will need at least 2 vacuum guages of some kind, and hoses that have restrictors. Restrictors can be made easily of you choose this route...

Some people purchase or make homemade devices called manometers, but a set of vacuum guages will work fine, and are less likely to cause damage from fluid passing into the engine.

The '82 KZ750 I just got (4 cyl) runs a bit hot

- I doubt a sync will affect this very much, but these bikes do tend to run pretty hot normally. At normal temp you should'nt be able to touch the block or head, and feel the heat rushing past your ankles while riding.

shakes a bit especially in the lower rpm's, and rattles the primary chain a bit, also at lower rpm's