Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Solenoid clicking but not turning over what am I doing wrong I'm new to this? 05 Jun 2024 21:36 #900322

• Buschpush
  • Buschpush's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Forgive me if I sound dumb, new to this
  • Thank you received: 0
I can't seem to find the answer in the service manual.

It's a 1980 kz250 LTD just put it back together after a cam shaft and gasket replacement my solenoid is clicking but not turning the starter over.

I'm new to this so forgive me if it's something really simple.

Attaching a YouTube short below 

youtube.com/shorts/Qet1dS5B9vo?feature=share

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Solenoid clicking but not turning over what am I doing wrong I'm new to this? 05 Jun 2024 21:38 #900323

• Buschpush
  • User
I should specify the battery is fully charged, should I put oil down the spark plug as I didn't load up the top half with oil before starting?!

Solenoid clicking but not turning over what am I doing wrong I'm new to this? 05 Jun 2024 22:17 #900325

• Buschpush
  • User
The battery is sitting at about 12volts/11.9volts

Solenoid clicking but not turning over what am I doing wrong I'm new to this? 05 Jun 2024 22:38 #900326

• Scirocco
  • Premium Member
  • Never change a running system
  • Thank you received: 1985
Sounds like a missing or bad ground (negativ) terminal connection of the battery to the frame,, engine case or the main wiring loom.
This can cause that high amps can´t feed the starter motor to turn over the engine. You can try to test connect the starter solenoid plus terminal
to the battery plus terminal with a jump wire. Please use a suitable wire cross section typ for the high amps..

Last edit: by Scirocco.

Solenoid clicking but not turning over what am I doing wrong I'm new to this? 05 Jun 2024 23:51 #900327

• Wookie58
  • Thank you received: 2062