305 rebuild complete...again

More
18 Jun 2023 11:31 - 18 Jun 2023 11:32 #886125 by 82KZ305Belt
305 rebuild complete...again was created by 82KZ305Belt
Finally got the 2nd rebuild job completed yesterday. I found more owner-related problems which is what took so long, a tiny washer was missing from one of the pilot screws, so I had to wait for that and new o-rings for the T that connects the 2 carbs, because that leaked when I first got it reassembled a couple weeks ago.

I'll admit I was lazy and impatient (or stupid, as you wish), I set the static timing but didn't check my valves before firing it up. After some initial troubles it finally caught, although it made a noticeable popping sound like either valves or exhaust leak that seemed to get a bit better as it warmed up. But I took it for a 5 mile ride yesterday up and down my street 1/2 mile either way, and it seemed fine. It smoked A LOT on startup and and warmup and at least until I started riding but I didn't notice it once I started riding. After my first rebuild 2 years ago it wouldn't go above 45 and smoked from one side only. This time it smoked from both sides which I took as a good sign, lol.  It had plenty of power left when I reached 45 mph, so I did something better than last time. Fingers crossed.  

Today I checked the valves, intakes were fine  and both exhaust valves clearances were way to large, so I reset them. Started up and I still have the popping noise so I will have to keep sleuthing that and keep hoping its not internal. Gotta work on the idle and should probably put the timing light on it.

Last edit: 18 Jun 2023 11:32 by 82KZ305Belt.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Wookie58

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jun 2023 18:59 #886153 by 82KZ305Belt
Replied by 82KZ305Belt on topic 305 rebuild complete...again