Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

KZ1100 Shaft exhaust question 19 Feb 2023 17:12 #880464

• persi
  • persi's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 3
So, I've been tearing down this bike and when I got the exhaust off, the part of the exhaust that links the two 2-into-1 sides of the setup has rusted through. I'm no mechanic but I can bet they were linked for a reason... rigidity, exhaust vibration, etc.

Now my question is, can anyone with experience in this area tell me if it's absolutely necessary they stay connected or will I experience some massive issue further down the line?

I've looked around and I can't find anything concrete on this, and I can't even find the part number for the dang thing! If I could cut those pipe parts off and seal the hole somehow would that be alright? The flange that the bolt goes through to hold the exhaust to the engine is intact, so I'm not too worried about the pipes rattling around and all that, I just don't want a major issue later by trying to MacGyver an easy fix.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KZ1100 Shaft exhaust question 19 Feb 2023 18:11 #880466

• Michi
  • User
  • Thank you received: 18
I'm not a mechanic but I can tell you you need that that part needs to be there, and not leaking. It's a balancing pipe, and it plays a role in exhaust excavation. Your bike won't run smoothly without it, or if it's leaking. Replacement pipes were 4-into-1, and even those were tuned pipes. Original pipes are always well worth preserving. 
Don't try to McGyver it - all McGyver bodges are a complete waste of time. Here in the UK, people used to use all sorts of things to repair exhaust leaks just long enough to get them through an MOT (an annual safety check by an agent of a government body). They don't last.