Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

KZ650 Shim Kit - cylinder head rebulid and swap questions 01 Feb 2023 11:56 #879591

• DanMadBoy
  • DanMadBoy's Avatar Topic Author
  • User is blocked
  • Thank you received: 14
I dont have time to work on my bike because Im a student. I was given two bikes from my uncle's collection for christmas.The 1977 KZ650 B needs the top end redone. The valve seals are shot, etc.  I bought a separate cylinder head, without the cams in it,  and thats being handled by a reputable head rebulder. All the valves, rubber, etc are being replaced, machining and whatnot, but thats not my issue.My uncle's friend said he will take the old head off and put the new one on,  but that I need to get a "shim kit." He said he cant just take the shims out of the old head and put them on the new head without having shims because ....whatever. haha.Does this make sense, and what is the best shim kit to get and where from? Im fairly new to all this tech stuff and can use the guidance.

Thanks!
Daniel

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by DanMadBoy.

KZ650 Shim Kit - cylinder head rebulid and swap questions 01 Feb 2023 12:21 #879592

• Warren3200gt
  • User
  • Thank you received: 691
He can use the shims from the old head to calculate which size shims he needs to get the new head in spec. He/you would only need to buy 8 shims at most but will possibly be able to use some of the shims from the old head in the new head so maybe you'll need less than 8.

Z1000J2 somewhat modified!

KZ650 Shim Kit - cylinder head rebulid and swap questions 01 Feb 2023 12:28 #879593

• DanMadBoy
  • User is blocked
Awesome. Thanks. and again, your bikes are awesome.