• Page:

TOPIC:

79’ KZ Oil Pressure Sensor: Just the wire? 07 Aug 2022 09:40 #871821

• KZintheADK
  • KZintheADK's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
Howdy all,
New owner of a fully running, nearly bone stock 79 Kz400B. Previous owner snagged it from a barn zipped around on it enough for 20
odd years to keep it running pretty well. I’m just putting it through some paces before I start deep cleans/rebuilds and have a leak at the oil pressure sensor.
The wire is cracked and it looks like oil is running from the crack down, but it’s hard to tell. Otherwise the sensors seems to be acting normally (ie send no pressure signal with engine off and key on). Any chance the leak is just from wire or should I just go ahead and replace the sensor too? Looks like there are a few options out there on eBay, but definitely down for recommendations. I’m kinda new to this stuff so apologies in advance if I said something dumb. Thx, looking forward to being part of the community.
-Tim

1979 KZ400B
Southern Adirondacks, NY
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Street Fighter LTD.

79’ KZ Oil Pressure Sensor: Just the wire? 07 Aug 2022 16:03 #871838

• Wookie58
  • Thank you received: 1720
Oil can only leak through the switch not the wire, it will however over time capillary up the cable and contaminate it (Mercedes cam sensors capillary oil all the way to the engine ECU  )
The following user(s) said Thank You: KZintheADK

79’ KZ Oil Pressure Sensor: Just the wire? 07 Aug 2022 16:30 #871843

• Irish Yobbo
  • User
  • Thank you received: 93

Oil can only leak through the switch not the wire, it will however over time capillary up the cable and contaminate it (Mercedes cam sensors capillary oil all the way to the engine ECU  )