Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Fuse blowing, spark plugs overheating after valve re-shim 05 May 2020 14:40 #825071

• limegreenlemon
  • limegreenlemon's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello all,

Long time reader on this forum and was digging through the forum looking for some help but it seems when I go to fix something it creates 5 more problems.

The bike in question is a '77 KZ650-B. I've had it for about a year now and it ran pretty good when purchased. The main issue was it would take a very, very long time to start in moderately cold weather, more than 20-30 seconds, and was making clicking and knocking sounds in the engine, so being a complete noob with fixing old bikes I went and bought a brand new battery, hoping all problems would go away. Same starting issues persisted.

I finally decided to take it to a shop and they said the valve clearance may be too tight, among other things, and quoted about $500 to re-shim the valves and look at what else is going on.

Anyway I ended up replacing the shims myself with a shim kit ordered off ebay, replaced the head gasket as well. Clearances were way out of spec but now they're in spec but this seems to have created more problems. The plugs were already carbon/oil fouled (another reason to re-shim the valves) so I swapped them with brand new plugs (NGK BR7ES) before my 1st ride after re-shim, only to have the bike die after 5 mins of riding. It blew the 20a main fuse and after replacing the fuse it blew instantly again, something somewhere is overheating?

The left coil connects plugs 1 & 4, right coil connects 2 & 3. Plugs 2 & 3 are light grey on the tip in addition to the instant carbon buildup and plugs 1 & 4 are completely black.