Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

'79 KZ650 Top End Gaskets and Seals 19 Feb 2019 13:52 #798898

• GasketCase
  • GasketCase's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi everyone, I have a '79 KZ650 thats leaking oil from what looks like the head gasket. I'm fairly new with bikes and have no idea where to start with replacing the head gasket. From my understanding there are serious risks to taking the engine apart without knowing what you're doing and so I'm looking for any sort of guide or guidance for undertaking this.

I do have an owner's manual, and I've seen the "kz650 top end reassembly" playlist on youtube, as well as a black and white walkthrough on how to rebuild the top end. I think all 3 of these resources are far too in-depth for what I need to accomplish. I have taken the engine out before, though from my understanding the engine can remain for top end work. I figure while I have the top end semi-apart I might as well replace all the gaskets I can without going to far down the rabbit hole and I've stumbled upon a few different sets, any advice on whether or not one of the three of these are worth buying? My biggest concern is that I see head gaskets for a kz650 selling upwards of $100, any dummy would second guess a whole set of gaskets at near or below the price of a single head gasket so what am I missing?

Here are the sets I'm considering:
z1parts.net/kz650-complete-gasket-set-1979-1980/
www.z1enterprises.com/gasket-set-kz650-79-80-top-end-kit-2.html
www.z1enterprises.com/gasket-set-kz650-79-80-full-set.html

If anyone has seen a guide that I can't find or could point me in the direction of the right forum post that would be a huge help as I'd really like to have this sucker ready for the spring

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

'79 KZ650 Top End Gaskets and Seals 19 Feb 2019 14:46 #798900

• 650ed
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2828