Using reed valves to pull vapor from PCV?

More
19 Aug 2018 21:43 #789380 by runmikeyrun
Using reed valves to pull vapor from PCV? was created by runmikeyrun
Hi everyone.

I’ve been working with an old Ford V8 for the past six months. Before they used PCV systems, crankcase gases were vented by a device called a road draft tube. There is an air intake on the oil filler cap and a metal tube connected to the crankcase sticks down below the engine. Above 20mph the Venturi effect pulls crankcase vapors, contaminants and water vapor out of the bottom tube, while pulling clean air in through the oil filler cap at the top of the engine.

Obviously the EPA had an issue with these systems and they weren’t all that effective to begin with. Hence the PCV was born. However, it got me thinking about bikes. When you remove the airbox, the crankcase vents out of the breather (usually into a filter or a tube positioned elsewhere) but doesn’t move any air through the engine to remove contaminants. Even with the airbox connected it is simply pulling gases out of the crankcase, only to be replaced by more blowby gases.

While this is venting excess pressure it doesn’t seem like it’s removing all of the contaminants, gases or water vapor. Reading about the old Fords has told me that these cause issues inside the engine if not scavenged- carbon buildup, rust from water vapor, and acids corroding internals. Hence, people nowadays will ditch the road draft tube and install a PCV system to more efficiently pull fresh air into the engine and suck the vapors out.

On our bikes with the crankcase breather simply open to the atmosphere it is the only source for gases to go in or out. No fresh air is being circulated through the crankcase. I was thinking of some ideas to remedy this.